Overseas property

France passport visa-free countries list in 2024

63 views · Updated on

Holding a French passport opens doors to numerous destinations worldwide without the need for a visa or with the option of visa on arrival or e-visa. This extensive travel freedom is a testament to the strength of the French passport. Here’s a breakdown of the types of visa-free access and notable countries in each category:

Visa-free entry

As of early 2024 French passport holders enjoy the privilege of visa-free entry to 161 countries and territories, allowing for hassle-free travel for tourism, short visits, and sometimes business. This means you can enter these countries without needing to apply for a visa beforehand.

Countries in this category often include but are not limited to:

  • Europe: being part of the European Union, France allows for free movement across its member states. This includes countries in the Schengen Area (Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland) as well as others in the EU (Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Ireland, Romania, United Kingdom).
  • Americas: Canada, Mexico, and the United States (under the Visa Waiver Program, requiring ESTA registration), Brazil, Argentina and Chile.
  • Asia: Japan, South Korea, Singapore and Thailand.
  • Oceania: Australia (though an electronic authorization is needed) and New Zealand.
  • Africa: Morocco, South Africa (for stays of up to 90 days) and Tunisia.

Visa on arrival

In some countries, French citizens can obtain a visa upon arrival. This is convenient for travelers, saving time and the need to apply for a visa in advance. Countries offering visa on arrival include:

  • Africa: Egypt, Kenya and Tanzania;
  • Asia: Jordan, Maldives and Nepal;
  • Oceania: Fiji and Palau.


An e-Visa is obtained online before travel. This process is generally straightforward and faster than traditional visa applications. Countries that offer e-Visas to French passport holders include:

  • Asia: India, Sri Lanka and Vietnam;
  • Africa: Ethiopia and Zimbabwe.

Special administrative regions and territories

Some regions and territories have separate visa policies from their governing countries, offering visa-free access or easier visa procedures for French passport holders. Examples include:

  • Asia: Hong Kong and Macau (China);
  • Americas: French territories in the Caribbean and South America, such as Martinique and French Guiana, offer seamless access.


Which countries need visa for France?

Nationals from certain countries need a visa to travel to France, while others are exempt. The specific visa requirements depend on the individual’s nationality, the purpose of the visit, and the length of intended stay. For example, U.S. citizens with valid passports can enter France without a visa for tourism or business for a period of 90 days within each six-month period. Similarly, citizens of around 60 non-EU countries, including the UK, USA, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, and many others, don’t need a visa for a short stay in France.

However, nationals of non-visa-free countries such as China, India, Nepal, Pakistan, and South Africa need a Schengen Visa to visit France and other member countries.

How many countries can a France passport enter without a visa?

As of early 2024, French passport holders can travel visa-free to 161 countries and territories.

However, to enter the remaining countries, French passport holders must apply for a visa beforehand. French passport holders can obtain an electronic visa (e-Visa) before traveling to the following 17 countries: Azerbaijan, Benin, Bhutan, Cambodia, Djibouti, Gabon, India, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Myanmar, Pakistan, Rwanda, Sri Lanka, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Togo and Uganda.

Can I visit other countries with a France visa?

Yes, if you have a Type D long-stay visa issued in France or by another Schengen country, it allows you to travel in the Schengen area for a maximum period of 90 days in any 180-day period. The Schengen visa is generally valid for all the countries in the Schengen area, and you can visit other Schengen states with it.

However, if you have a single-entry visa, you can only use it to enter the country that issued the visa, and you would need a multiple-entry visa to visit multiple Schengen countries.

Share the article
Subscribe not to miss new articles

We will send you a content digest not more than once a week

    I confirm that I have read and accept the Privacy Policy and Personal Data Processing Guidelines.

    Tranio’s managers offer advice on buying real estate in France
    Polina Riashnitseva
    Polina Riashnitseva
    Real Estate Expert Tranio Europe
    +44 17 4822 0039
    Send a request
      I confirm that I have read and accept the Privacy Policy and Personal Data Processing Guidelines.
      • 0% commission to Tranio
      • Residence permit support
      • Mortgage rates from 1.75%